Archive for the 'SEO' Category

Do older domains really rank better?

Thursday, October 16th, 2008

The short answer is yes. Older domains get ranked better than newer domains. Its minor though and if it changes hands along the way the effect is minimized. Search engines aren’t stupid and just having a long lived domain name isn’t likely to make much of an impact on rankings unless there is some relevant content on the domain during that time. If its not used and not ranked and then you buy it, you won’t likely get too much benefit from better rankings simply because the domain is old.

It is known that the age of a domain does influence rankings but changing hands through purchasing a domain is likely to eliminate whatever minor effect that has. So the long answer is no. Older domains don’t really influence rankings as much as people like to think because you have to purchase older domains from squatters which means it changes hands. If you bought a domain years ago and tossed up a simple landing page or mini site and now you want to revisit that domain and develop it then yes it will have an advantage since you owned it for a while.

Which top level domain is better?

Thursday, October 16th, 2008

I recently got asked by a client which top level domain he should pick. His first .com choice was taken so his second pick was a .me domain. I’ve been asked this a few times so I felt I should clear up any confusion.

The only top level domains that have an influence on rankings are .edu and .gov. I have not read anything that contradicts that. The only thing I can think of that would possibly make me want to pick a .com over a .me domain would be purely from a user’s perspective and not SEO related. I think more people are willing to trust a .com or .net domain than a .me , a .biz , or another less obscure top level domain. Other than individual perception of the top level domain, there is no effect on rankings.

Which error code is better, 301 or 404?

Sunday, October 12th, 2008

Many sites go through redesigns and in the process URLs change. In particular, most sites we redesign we attempt to use pretty urls that contain keywords for the page. The keywords end up bold in search results if they are in the search terms. The thinking is that the bolding of the keywords increases your CTR on search results. The problem comes when you try to figure out what to do with a site that is already ranked well and you are switching over to pretty urls. The question is whether you should let the old urls just 404 or should you go through and make 301 redirects to the new pretty urls. Here are my thoughts on it:

The search engines will see the 301 redirects and start to modify their index with the new urls. The entire site won’t be reindexed at once so for a period of time it will still think that there are current pages on the site linking to urls that then do a 301. This will negatively impact rankings. How much impact is difficult to say. As the entire site is eventually reindexed the search engines will see that the site no longer links to the old urls and the site won’t be negatively impacted. I’m guessing it’ll take 3 months to remove any negative impact. Its just an educated guess though.

The 301 redirects will also have a positive impact on rankings in that the urls will contain the relevant keywords. As the site is gradually reindexed, the search engines will start to see that there is a navigational importance to the keywords used in the links on the site. It will boost the effect of those keywords and improve how the search engines interpret the site’s internal linking structure. As a result, it will have a positive impact.

Once the site is completely reindexed and the negative impact from the 301 redirects is negligible the site will ultimate have better ranking potential than before the change since the internal linking structure has been given more weight to keywords in navigational structure.

This is all known and predictable. What we can’t be sure of is if the weight of the positive impact will balance the weight of the negative impact in the short term while the site is being reindexed. From my experience, I expect rankings to slide initially and over a three month period regain and surpass the original rankings.

If you simply ignore the current site urls and just do 404s, the search engines will start to reindex your site but will also register a bunch of 404s. This is probably going to give you a much more negative impact than you’ll get from the small decline you’ll get from doing 301s. I strongly advise doing 301 redirects and to remember that your rankings will likely drop slightly but will ultimately recover and exceed where they were before (that’s assuming there wasn’t any changes in the redesign itself that negatively effects your rankings).

On-site Blog versus Off-site Blog

Sunday, October 12th, 2008

I don’t think its necessary to go into the benefits of adding a blog to help market your site. Its widely accepted as an easy way to add new keyword rich pages and help out rankings. There are some questions about whether an off-site blog or an on-site blog is better for rankings. When I’m referring to an on-site blog, I’m assuming its going to be integrated into the main site we’re promoting. An off-site blog might be with a blogging service like Blogger or something similar. The off-site blog will link out to the main site we’re marketing. The thinking is that that off-site blog will generate more rankings potential for the main site because it will be a valuable incoming link to the main site. While that may be true to some extent I still prefer on-site blogs.

An off-site blog may have ranking benefits by having externals links from another site into your main site but the off-site blog will require its own link building campaign independent of the main site so it can get ranked on its own. I’m not sure its a good use of resources to have 2 link building campaigns: one for the blog and one for the mian site. One benefit of an on-site blog would be that we can use the blog pages as potential landing pages for Adwords and other PPC marketing (sure we can do that with an off-site blog but it would require another click before they get to your main site). I think you could write your on-site blog posts in a way that would make the main site an informational resource for its theme. I think the SEO benefit would be better as a
result.

Keep in mind that Google hires teams of people to visit every site in their search index and rate them. The purpose is to improve the quality of search results and get spammy looking sites out of top rankings. I believe there are so many spammy looking blogs out there that just link out to other sites that their effect is decreasing over time as a result of this manual rating. The blogs like this are labeled as thin sites and devalued in ranking once they are reviewed. I think its better to focus on getting blog content on-site that makes your main site look more like an information resource. I would shy away from the traditional blog look and feel and try to make it look more like a rich resource of information about issues related to the topic. When it gets manually reviewed, you’ll more likely get a bigger thumbs up than you’d get from a thin off-site blog.

Of course this is all just an educated guess at best so take it all with a grain of salt.

Quantitative evidence of my SEO effectiveness

Friday, April 18th, 2008

I’ve been working with one client for several months now and they are extremely pleased with the results I’ve produced for them thus far. Here is a snapshot of the monthly analytics data for the site over the past year. You can get a larger view of the graph if you click on the image.

Google analytics showing seo traffic growth

I started working with them in July and by August you can see that their traffic more than doubled. From July to now, I’ve continued to work with the client on increasing rankings through seo, link building, and improving visitor retention. The result is that their natural organic search traffic has seen an increase almost 10 times what it was, from 1,800 to 17,000. I’m pointing this out because I like the latest Google Analytics monthly graph view. It really helps in showing trends over time and its encouraging for clients to see the upward results from my seo work.

New Onomojo design services

Thursday, April 17th, 2008

Its been a long time coming but we’ve finally got our new site design finished for Onomojo. We’ve also expanded our services to include graphics design, logo design, web design, and a whole slew of other graphics related services. That’s in addition to the services we already provided which were primarily programming, seo, and marketing related. Here’s a screenshot of the new design.

Onomojo screenshot

A quantitative look at SEO vs. PPC

Tuesday, March 4th, 2008

I’ve been through the ropes when it comes to SEO and PPC advertising (particularly with Google’s Adwords). Clients come to me either looking for SEO or online marketing solutions. Their objective is obviously to increase their sales and they want it to happen yesterday. The first thing I look at is where a site is currently ranked in search results for their targeted keywords before beginning any SEO or PPC campaigns. I like to also take a look at their Google Analytics data to see what’s already working well for them and to get a perspective of the volume of traffic they’re dealing with. Some business have none of these things setup and are simply trying to make a push to increase online revenue. Whatever their motivation the objectives are all the same and the same techniques apply. Except, however, for my recommendation for PPC ads.

Small businesses which don’t get much online traffic are usually looking for a quick fix and instant gratification. I usually take the time to explain the benefit of SEO and link building to these companies but in the end they usually choose PPC advertising. I’m not against PPC ads but I do have a pretty quantitative reason for trying to dissuade some of my clients from pursuing that route. From my experience, PPC ads only work if you have a high return on a product that has a high conversion rate per click. In essence a high ROI. The problem for many small businesses is that they sell low dollar items which themselves produce a small profit margin.

Lets take a small handmade soap manufacturer as a perfect example of a small business looking to expand their sources of revenue by setting up a shopping cart. A company like this might make a dollar on each bar of specialty soap sold. They aren’t likely to have huge resources like a large technology corporation so their budget for the project is relatively small. Lets say less than 5k USD. Part of that covers development costs and the rest ends up in limbo while I exude the benefits of SEO over PPC advertising to the client. From the perspective of a business if someone tells me to spend a few thousand dollars and it’ll pay off in maybe 6 months but they can’t guarantee first page placement my natural business sense tells me to tell this person where to go. My alternative is to pay per click advertising which will result in instant traffic and likely increase my sales immediately. The choice is simple in that regard and its why many small businesses with little understanding of online commerce end up abandoning their get rich quick online schemes.

Lets dig a little deeper into PPC ads. Lets assume a bar of my handmade soap costs me $3 and my typical order contains 3 bars of soap. Lets also assume I make $1.50 off each bar of soap I sell. Those numbers are pretty realistic examples. I now want to start an online marketing campaign and put in 3k USD to PPC ads for a month. That means I need to sell 2000 bars of soap in a month and have about 666 orders with 3 bars each on average. If we stretch those orders out over the entire month then I need to get about 22 online orders a day to simply break even with my PPC advertising campaign. Now lets look at the budget I have allocated for the month, $3,000. That’s about $100 a day. Lets assume that with my amazing skills I’ve managed to optimized my Adwords campaign so well that I’m getting an average CPC at $0.40. That will give me about 250 visits a day just from my Google Adwords campaign. If 22 of those 250 visitors placed orders that would make my conversion rate 8.8%. Depending on the industry that’s a pretty high conversion rate for online sales. Now take a look at what we just went over. This looks at what we need to just break even and we had to make some incredible assumptions like our amazing CPC at $0.40. A average CPC of $0.60 to $1.20 is more realistic for the targeted keywords but we gave ourselves the benefit of the doubt for this example. We still needed a 8.8% conversion rate which isn’t too probable. Its an example where some simple upfront analysis of the numbers will tell you that my $3,000 is better spent doing some SEO and link building so that I can get natural free search traffic that will last longer than a single month.

Lets take an example of a high dollar product, travel. People spend about $1500 on a travel sale and per sale I may make on average 10% or $150. The example above needs to be modified to have an average CPC at $2.00. If I need to make $100 a day in sales it means I need to make just 1 sale a day or 2 every 3 days. If I’m spending $100 a day on ads with an average CPC at $2.00 I’ll get about 50 visitors a day. If I need just 1 sale from those 50 visitors that’s a conversion rate of 2% which is certainly much easier to get than the 8.8% I needed from selling soap. This campaign has a high likelihood of succeeding and will probably be well in the black at the end of the month.

Travel has a high profit margin and requires a low conversion rate which is why PPC campaigns work for it. Soap has low profit margins and requires a high conversion rate to simply break even so a PPC campaign isn’t likely to succeed. My soap business will end up negative at the end of the month and I’ll likely be bitter at the waste of the small investment I made towards PPC ads.

In summary, SEO is the way to go for small businesses selling products with small profit margins. Its a more calculated and well thought out method of generating sales online. The benefits may take time to show but the payoff is that your online business may actually succeed. PPC ads on the other hand will have you bleeding money with little chance of ever turning a profit.

Googlebot and redirect_to :back

Thursday, February 28th, 2008

The other day I noticed a pretty significant SEO related problem with using a built in Rails construct. I noticed a problem when I started getting application errors that were letting me know that the user agent was none other than our friendly Googlebot. A closer look at the app shed light on a problem you may not have even expected. When using

it will take a look at the HTTP_REFERRER and redirect the user to that url. The problem, however, is that Googlebot doesn’t send a referrer and neither do a whole bunch of other search engine spiders. The result is that when they visit your site they get a nice 502 server error because Rails raises an exception. It doesn’t know what url to redirect to so it send a 502 error. Googlebot then sees your site as a bunch of 502 errors in the situations where you’re using redirect_to :back. Take a look at the Rails API and you’ll see the last line clearly mentions this.

The solution is to catch the RedirectBackError the redirect_to raises when there’s no referrer. Its a simple fix but one you need to be on the lookout for or else you might end up with a few 502 errors giving you bad mojo with the Google gods.

Google Base on Rails

Wednesday, December 19th, 2007

I was surprised to come up empty handed when searching for a Google Base Rails plugin. I wanted something that would allow me to easily create a feed into Google Base using their API. I didn’t find anything so I took the quick and short term solution and created my own Google Base xml feed. Its based on RSS 2.0 so its not incredibly difficult but I could have saved a few minutes if it was already written for me so here it is. My Google Base xml generator in Ruby on Rails. Its not complete and only has the fields that I specifically wanted for my products. Your feed will likely contain other fields so check the Google Base docs for more information on customizing it. You’ll notice that I thought Google Base was going to pull my xml feed when I initially wrote this but it turns out I have to use the API and this is just good for generating the xml file which you then have to manually upload to Google Base.

First, I added this to route.rb

Then I created controllers/google_controller.rb

And finally, I create views/google/base_feed.rxml

There are obviously calls to helper methods in the base_feed.rxml file like product_url and photo_url. I use those so I can easily generate pretty seo urls anywhere I need them. You’ll need to replace those with however you create your urls.

This should suffice for at most 31 days when all the products I just added will expire in Google Base. I doubt I’ll bother creating a Google Base Rails plugin unless I see a noticeable increase in traffic and sales so don’t hold your breath.

SEO, online marketing, and web development

Thursday, November 15th, 2007

I’ve been meaning to write about this for quite a long time but somehow never seemed to get around to it. I started a SEO, online marketing, and web development company called Onomojo a while ago. I’ve just been so busy since its conception that I found it hard to find the time to blog about it. I’ve decided to take a break from the hustle and bustle of the routine and say a few words about us.

seo, online marketing, and web development company onomojo screenshot

We offer a complete marketing package for online businesses who are looking to increase their exposure and increase their revenue. A lot of businesses throw money at expensive marketing firms and end up with little to show for it. We found that in most cases the marketers weren’t developers and the developers weren’t marketers. Onomojo is different. We are all programmers, designers, and marketing professionals. This gives us an edge and the ability to offer complete marketing packages that complete the necessary learning loop to achieve success.

Any successful business must learn from what it does right and learn from what it does wrong. When your marketing agency has to communicate their wishes to developers the intentions are often lost. Programmers aren’t typically interested in the marketing aspect of development. Marketers usually have no clue how to program or design. We are different. Our developers have a passion for SEO, marketing, graphics design, and everything else it takes to make a company successful. Our feedback loop of what works and what doesn’t is extremely short with a complete package. We learn from the marketing and SEO and we directly apply that learning to your site design and content. We take learning from CPC ads and traffic analysis and we apply those lessons learned to make your site more effective. Onomojo offers complete online marketing packages for business looking for a competitive edge. Visit our site at http://onomojo.com and fill out the contact form for more information on what Onomojo can do for you and your company.